Move On When Ready Workshop

MOWR logo

Macon County Middle School Receives Move on When Ready Workshop from Macon County High School & South Georgia Technical College


The Move On When Ready Act (MOWR), House Bill 149, was signed into law April 2009 as a dual enrollment opportunity for students to attend a postsecondary institution full-time during their junior and/or senior year of high school. Students that participate in MOWR will receive high school credit and college credit simultaneously while attending college classes on the college campus, fulltime. Approved college on-line courses may also be taken that meet high school graduation requirements. MOWR provides high school students the opportunity to “jump start” postsecondary education during the high school years. Once a student meets the admission requirements and is accepted to a technical college, 2-year college, or 4-year university, the high school student will be free to “move on” earlier to the next educational level. Interested students need to meet with their high school counselor and parents to discuss the guidelines and responsibilities of the MOWR program. Students are eligible to participate in Move on When Ready if they are entering 11th or 12th grade and have spent the prior school year in attendance at a public high school in Georgia.

This partnership between the middle and high school counseling departments allows middle school students to get a deeper understanding of how MOWR works and shows them how they can start to prepare themselves to participate in such initiatives as they journey through their high school years. Macon County High School Counselor, James Brown and South Georgia Technical College High School Initiative Specialist, Brittny Wright recently visited MCMS students to enlighten them further about MOWR.

The following students were able to meet with the two special guests and learn more about how they can participate in MOWR in the future: Jonathan Reyes, Jakedan Smith, Jalen Holmes, Breunnia Perkins, Charlie Fulks, Zykemia Harmon, Tamiya Young, Mariah Smith, Shaniya Thomas, Ariel Bodrey, Indya Calloway, Chance Simpson, Olivia Avila, Aravian Thomas, and Hope Garnes

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved. | Login